WPC: Transient

Sometimes she wonders
what is behind her what is waiting there
for her to see
what does the view look like after she passes through
and she now looks
with knowing eyes at the past parts feeling less
overwhelming brighter more filtered more
forgiving with warmer hues and vibrant touches
she can feel the good-byes
without the suffering she can see the wisdom
without the lesson she can dream
again without the weight and so as she moves
forward with time
as she must knowing her longing is calling
her to move on
all the while her past
is cheering her on

** This post is part of this weeks Weekly Photo Challenge. The theme this week is Transient and you can find more entries, HERE.

A transient in my part of the world is not a kind way to describe someone. They are usually homeless, drug-seeking, dirty, suffering people. I chose to take the approach of my own transience, I have moved more times than I can count in my adult years. I am constantly feeling the pull to move, to explore, to expand, to motivate motion in my life. I took this photograph last week in the Scout Grove in Redwoods National Park. It was my first time on this road, quite bumpy and a thrill to drive. I felt transported into a magical experience where you didn’t want to speak for fear of waking up. I can’t wait to go back.

11 comments

  1. I love the intriguing photograph. I haven’t been to the Scout Grove but I will the next time. I always enjoy the Lady Bird Johnson Grove but haven’t been there in 20 years. I hope it hasn’t changed. Your words are wonderful.

    1. Thank you so much, Mercy. The Scout Grove road is not fit for trailers or RV’s, it takes some concentration, 1 car wide in places and lots of twists and turns but the TREES are magnificent. More magical than Lady Bird by far and that is saying something πŸ™‚ So glad you enjoyed the photograph and words, it means a lot.

  2. What a thoughtful poem illustrated aptly by the photograph. Do I remember correctly that your mom was with you? If so, knowing the change she faces, I almost felt the poem could be about her as well as about her transient daughter.

    1. Yes, Janet, my mom was with me. And yes, you are correct in assuming the connection to the words and her moments ahead and behind her. I wasn’t thinking of her so much when I started writing but my words find their way to what I really want to say when I just let them speak. Thank you for your kind comment, as always!

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

