WPC: Surprise

There is an element of surprise within
those who don’t fit in who bling
instead of blend
standing tall strong deep and wide unwilling to curve
to another with expectations instead they find their unique stride they wind
their own way offering a glimpse
at what it means to exude inner strength from the inside
out to trust yourself to bloom in your own color
to know your own place within this garden of life where so many blend
without answering themselves it is
quite a beautiful surprise to lay eyes on another
who questions and then listens
to themselves like a favorite lover

** This post is part of the Weekly Photo Challenge. This week’s theme is, “surprise” and you can find more entries, HERE.

I was remarkably surprised at how well the stem of this flower blended with the background and made it look like I may have manipulated the photograph, by potentially bringing in the purple flower after the fact. But, that is not the case. I am enjoying the color capture of my new camera and how the backgrounds are turning out as well. Many new images to share with you in the weeks ahead.

7 comments

    1. Thank you so much, Johanna. I couldn’t take my eyes off this photograph once I started working on it. And, the words…well, they surprised me too!

  1. The photo is lovely, and the words, oh my…they’re wonderful. If the words surprised you, perhaps your inner most “you” needed to say them. I know I’m certainly glad I’ve read them.

    1. Thank you very much, Mercy. I am often surprised by where my poems go. I tend to write them just before I post so they are an in the moment thing. And yes, giving my “inner” voice a platform has brought a lot of clarity and wisdom forward that I would not have heard otherwise. I’m so glad these words touched you, that is such a compliment. Have a beautiful day.

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

