Seeing Differently Challenge- 14 of 15

Let me paint for you just this once
a view twirling circling imagination
and trust where the winds carry
worries off of your shoulders and the hints
of sunlight warming your heart longer where
the softness of redwood needles fold over your head
protecting you guiding you standing watch for you
as the world turns again your breath
can slow your mind can fall quiet your heart
can stop racing and instead beat in silence
you will have time
to say thank you to your body for all
that it carries all that it holds all that it knows
and as subtle as the quiet is
it is so bold

Last night as the sun began its decent once again I was drawn outside by the softness of the light in the sky and the clouds wandering by. At first I tried to capture the view as I usually do, trying to find the right balance of ISO, aperture and exposure. But, there are some moments where it feels insurmountable and I can’t get my camera to share what I see.

So, I started mixing it up with different in-camera settings and this one is the watercolor setting. Of course, I also spent some time in Lightroom adding my creative touches. It was an interesting process and fun to bend the self-inflicted rules a bit.

There are a few of us participating in this wonderful challenge constructed by Robyn at Captivate Me. You can find more details HERE or find other entries using the tag search, seedifferently2016.

My gallery so far:

3 comments

  1. I love what you say about self inflicted rules – how true is that?!! Love also that you played and persisted and then adapted 🙂 The result is a fun image.
    “Let me paint for you just this once
    a view twirling circling imagination
    and trust where the winds carry
    worries off of your shoulders and the hints
    of sunlight warming your heart….”
    Sounds perfect -yes please.. and thanks so much! 😀

    1. Yes, I realized this about the “rules” as I read your first post describing your idea for this challenge. It felt so right to bend them and see what is beyond! I am not a huge fan of images like this one, too showy if that makes sense. But, I liked the effect and felt it was worth sharing, just this once 🙂

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

