MMC- Road

Indeed the middle I walked
right to listening carefully
with each ear noticing
no high pitch tire sounds coming toward me
I laid down on my stomach nose close to the line
looking over the intricacies
of pavement and a yellow painted line
the ground warm from the last
of the summer’s rays the cracks intriguing
closer I explored losing track
suddenly feeling it is too long
for my body to still rest
in the middle of the road

** This post is part of Leanne Cole’s weekly challenge, Monochrome Madness. At the start of each month there is an added challenge of a word, we were prompted with “Road” this month. Please see the rest of the gallery, HERE.

I had big plans for this challenge and nothing translated to monochrome quite like I imagined it would. So, this poem above is a true account of how I found my photograph. The road is close to my house, it felt so great to lay in the middle of the road and marvel at the details I am usually driving over.

16 comments

  1. Oh, I love the visual of you face down in the middle of the road finding a photograph only you could take. You are amazing, Carrie, and the photograph intrigues me: how many lines have I driven over or along and never once looked closely.

    1. I really was fascinated once I got close, I couldn’t believe all the cracks and blemishes on what always looks to me like a perfectly painted yellow line. You are so kind, Janet. Thank you! I love that you get it and get me πŸ™‚

    1. So good to hear that, Laurie. I was glad this photograph and poem came together for the challenge. I wasn’t so sure it would! And, I must say it was such an interesting view.

  2. I love your take on the road theme. I, too, had a difficult time because what I had planned didn’t do well in B & W. I even wrote a blog post about it. LOL

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

