WPC: Pure

Your older brother out
on an errand with dad
your mind churning your heart instantly has a plan
to feel strong feel powerful feel alive
with a dragon cape in the sunshine
you leap you jump you roar deeply from your gut
purely embracing who
you know you are inside

**This  post is part of the Weekly Photo Challenge, this week’s theme is “pure”. You can find more entries, HERE.

At first I thought I wanted to convey the soft morning light in some way, it is such a pure feeling for me, to find that early light. But, my son changed my mind this weekend when he transformed into a dragon! The freedom of childhood and the joy of imagination are such pure delights to witness. He reminds me so often to notice, to let go and to remember my own little girl self. She is the purest part of me.

15 comments

    1. Thank you for sharing, Yousuf. I see the distinct connection and completely agree. I love this genuine expression of my son, his joy awakens mine! Have a beautiful day.

    1. 🙂 So happy to hear that, Laura. Thank you. It is such a special thing to watch someone of any age express what is in their heart at a given moment. My boy does it so often! Great teaching moment for me!

  1. Carrie, I love, love, love this post. The second I saw the photograph I was filled with the pure joy of childhood, with the ability of children to be totally in the moment with no concern for anything but what they are doing. Then I read your words, both the poem and your explanation, which captured my feelings on seeing the photograph perfectly. It is a rare and wondrous ability you have to describe the world so well with both photography and words.

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

