Flowers on Friday: Hyacinth

UPDATE: Chris and Robyn both think this is a hyacinth, so I am going with it. It did smell divine when I was photographing it.

I find so many flowers that I love while walking, hiking or even driving by. Many times I stop and try to capture their personality, I try to carry my camera with me as much as I can. Sadly, I don’t know the names of so many flowers and I feel like I am doing them an injustice by not knowing. So, if any of you happen to know what this flower is, please tell me. I will update my title accordingly.

The Language of Flowers dictionary defines Hyacinth by color, each color has a different definition. If you were to give the purple hyacinth in a bouquet it is defined as “please forgive me”.

I really think it is wonderful how this looks like a field of blooms. Yet, it is just a small patch growing in my neighbors sidewalk yard. They were bright and calling to me on Easter evening. Their purple color reminds me of my favorite grape flavored bubblicious bubblegum. My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

22 comments

    1. Thank you, Maria. I thought it might be a type of lupine too. I looked through google images though and didn’t see one that looked quite like this one. I am stumped too πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, Chris. I looked on google images for those too. That was my second guess. It looked like they are mostly tight bundled flowers. They don’t hang individually like this one is. Although, it did smell divine. Which I know hyacinths are known for their incredible smells. So you are probably right πŸ™‚

      1. I remember walking through the woods in France when I was little and they were like a carpet of purply blue and their perfume was heady. Definitely hyacinths!

  1. Carrie, this is so gorgeous and my first thought s a Hyacynth too. Perfection πŸ˜ƒ
    So looking forward to finding some flowers again soon too. I’ve only had vase flowers for months due to the hot summer.
    Just love your signs of Spring. Keep the FOF posts coming πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ

    1. Thank you, Robyn. I enjoy these posts each Friday. A fun way to share! Good to know on the name. I’ll change my title πŸ™‚ Yes, spring has been blooming for weeks, loving all the layers of color and fresh energy.

    1. Hello Sherry Lynn, Thank you for the full name. I really appreciate it. I really was curious. I need to get myself a flower identification book, badly. Hope you have a wonderful day.

  2. Carrie, in reading through the comments, it seems that hyacinth is the correct answer. Isn’t that an incredible color?
    Thanks for the intro to Chris and Robyn, too

    1. Oh yes, Chris and Robyn are well worth visiting. They share a beautiful part of their world through their photography. Such nice women. I was really struck by the color as well and the smell! That is something you will have to trust me on, quite an attribute. Thank so much for enjoying!

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

