Spreading Christmas Cheer

I know I am fortunate, I found someone to build a life with when I was just finishing college. I knew it, within hours of meeting him, that he would impact my life. His fresh sense of humor, ability to create anything and insightful taste in music all paired with his warm hugs. I was struck by his presence and thankfully we have been together ever since. This is our 16th Christmas together.

His family, when he was going up, would bake dozens of their favorite holiday cookies and plate them up for their special friends and neighbors. I can’t image cookie baking for a whole day with 7 small children running about the kitchen and house, tasting as they went. But, his mom made it happen, every year.

When our first born was just months old my husband called his mom and asked for the recipes for his favorite holiday cookies. We bought special plates, at least 10 pounds of flour, molasses for gingersnaps and a lot of sprinkles, butter, eggs and sugar too. I watched as he easily made hundreds of cookies, timing their readiness perfectly. And, I watched in awe at our friends and neighbors when they opened their doors to our smiling baby and cookies just for them.

By the time my son was 3 he was showing his younger brother how to roll a perfect sugar cookie.  I am reminded every Christmas season how happy I am that we have such a large table to make such a large mess on. And, I am reminded how much I admire my husband for continuing this tradition. It really does bring Christmas cheer to those we appreciate most.

I am looking forward to spending these next few days enjoying my family and marveling at their seasonal joy. I’ll hopefully return next week with a look back at some of my favorite photographs from this past year. Until then, may you have a wondrous holiday season filled with warmth and love.

6 comments

    1. Merry Christmas to you, Tamara. I know right? I can’t imagine it either! My husband is the only one out of the bunch that still does the cookie tradition and he tells me he stayed out of the kitchen the most out of all the kids! 40 dozen is soooo many! I think we ended up with about 15 dozen this year. They were well received 🙂

    1. Thank you, Robyn. Same to you and yours! My husband does so well in the midst of that chaos, I would not fair as well. Happy I have a man who puts effort into what he loves! See you in 2016!

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

