Weekly Photo Challenge: Connected

Photo By: Carrie (Rock Creek Wilderness, The Sierra Nevada)

Held easily with
purpose

the ground never lets go
solid rock
firm unwavering stillness

ready plant your feet bare
naked toes vulnerable and trusting

cold dampness seeping
turning
warmer with each second you are still

in place legs acting like roots
you are ready

release
your head and arms to the heavens
slowly you breathe

in deeply
the Earth
holding you at her speed

the skies allow
your arms to move

in the breeze you close
and open your fists noticing
the blood rushing then leaving

your limbs
the freeing sensation

you are flying in place
your eyes
close your hands

fall with your breath to the Earth
in this moment you know

you are
connecting yourself with something greater
than you could ever

want
to know alone

This post is part of the Weekly Photo Challenge, this week the theme is Connected. My son proudly explored his connection with The Sierra Nevada and their impressive granitic boulders this summer. His small yet strong presence connected to the boulder beneath him and his out stretched arm powerfully connecting to the skies brings me great joy. You can see more “Connected” images HERE.

14 comments

  1. A beautiful photo and a wonderfully inspiring poem – I particularly love the ending: ‘you are
    connecting yourself with something greater / than you could ever / want / to know alone’. 🙂

    1. I am so happy to hear you enjoy both the image and words, Louise. As you know, endings are so important to me. It means a lot that you felt a connection enough to write it again! Thank you.

    1. The Sierra make anyone of any age feel powerful and alive, or so it feels to me 🙂 Ahhh yes, my training. The race is in less than two weeks! I am so excited, traveling to Alaska to do it. I’m sure there will be some photographic and writing inspiration I’ll take from the event. Thanks Laura!

  2. Wow. I don’t know how to describe my reaction to the sturdy boy atop a rock, seen and described so clearly by his mom with both words and camera. The lines I kept coming back to were “in place legs acting like roots” and “the Earth holding you at her speed.” Wonderful.

    1. Yes, “the Earth holding you at her speed” is one of my favorite lines. It says a lot, to me any way. I am always touched by your comments and the time you spend looking and enjoying my words and images. It is such a gift you give me, thank you.

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

