One Four Challenge: July Week 4

Photo By: Carrie (please click on image for full effect)

Well I made it, a few days late but I am okay with that. I hope you are too. My new computer finally arrived and I was quick to get it set up. I have really missed the creative outlet of image processing and the writing that follows. It feels so good to be back at it.

So, this week, I wanted to try to make an image that looked old and dramatic. I started with the wide-angle crop and went from there.

Details:

  • Started with the original file in Lightroom and found a wide-angle crop that I liked
  • I used the infrared preset which gave a good start to the old-time feel I was going for
  • I played with the basic settings as well as the tonal curve until I liked what I saw
  • Then I added a radial filter to the building to lower the clarity, it was looking to new still
  • I added another radial filter to the middle of the image bringing a shadowed effect to the edges

LR version

  • At this point I liked it but felt like the building was still too “new” looking, it was out-of-place in the image. I tried cropping it out but felt like it wasn’t a good look. I was feeling stumped so I went to bed.
  • I woke up this morning and downloaded FotoSketcher and within a couple clicks I knew it was done.
  • In FotoSketcher I chose the vintage effect. I played with the settings for that effect and was done.

This month has challenged me since I have never worked out a version until the day before I posted. And, all my computer troubles have added to the mix as well. But, I am really happy with these versions and have enjoyed this photograph probably more than any I have worked on so far.

We are taking the month of August off from this challenge, I may post a few of my favorites from past months depending on how the end of our summer shapes up. If you have been on the fence about joining this challenge now is your chance. We start-up the first Monday of September. Please go to Robyn’s blog, Captivate Me HERE to see everyone’s final versions of this month. There are some incredible edits out there. Or you can find us with the tag, “One Four Challenge”.

Of course I always appreciate your opinion and support with this challenge. If you have a favorite for this month please let me know in the comments below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

20 comments

  1. Oh Carrie….I really LOVE what you have done here! It is such a beautiful piece of art. I love the contrast to the right of the image especially. Well done! And congratulations on your computer. I am feeling your pain right now as mine has been in for repair and I’ve been struggling to interact with this old computer which is so pitifully slow. So slow that most of the time I just don’t bother. Hopefully mine will be back Thursday or Friday. Loading the reader is a real hassle! Welcome back and I hope to join you on a regular basis soon!

    1. Oh that means so much coming from you, Laura. Thank you! It felt so good to work on and think about this image last night and this morning πŸ™‚
      I do totally hear you on your computer woes…sorry. The end of the week is fast approaching and you will be up to speed in no time.

  2. That’s it, that’s the one, this photo is definitely the winner for me – LOVE what you’ve done with it. This photo reminds me of something I would have pulled out from my father’s writing desk when I was a child. Fabulous! πŸ™‚

    1. Sounds like your father’s writing desk is a treasure! Thank you so much, Joanne. I am so happy you enjoyed this latest version. It is so fun to play with an image like this. Quite a different scene than the original.

    1. Thanks so much Cybele, yes I quite agree. Once I saw that Infrared effect I saw the mist, the vision, and I was excited πŸ™‚ So happy you like it.

    1. Once in a while that Infrared preset in LR brings something to an image that nothing else could. I am so happy to hear you like it, Louise. FotoSketcher brought out all the old time I could have asked for. This is the first edit on my new 24inch screen…I am in love. It sure is easier to see what I am doing πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks so much, Chris. It is quite amazing to look at the original and think this is the same photograph. I loved the foggy worn feel of this one, so happy to read that others are enjoying it too. One Four Challenge magic again, I would never have done this for a first edit!

      1. Love the foggy worn feel of this one too. It’s my favourite also and you never know what might appear from that fabulous mist..or is it dust? Love it!
        So happy you’ve enjoyed this month’s image and your new computer!!

    1. I was surprised how versatile this image was. It was fun to work with each week, glad I picked it! Hope I am that fortunate with other images in the months ahead…I have no idea how to know until you get through the month πŸ™‚

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

