One Four Challenge: July Week 2

This week I decided to focus on the bend in the track, I tried a few different ideas/crops and found this one the most pleasing to my eye.

Week 2

Week 2

I am sorry to see that the image looks soft especially around the trees in the background. If you click directly on the image it views better and more like what I saw when I was editing it. Not sure why there is such a noticeable discrepancy this time.

Details:

  • Opened week 1 image in LR and tried a different preset, Cross Process 1.
  • Then I tried a number of crop ideas and played with the main settings like highlights, shadows, clarity, contrast, etc, until I liked what I was looking at. This was over the span of a couple of days.
  • I lowered the highlights a bit further and decreased the shadows at the end as well, trying to maintain the evening light jumping off the track but not blowing out the image.
  • I used the Graduated Filter tool over the trees in the background bringing out some of their details.

I am always up for hearing what you think, feedback and ideas welcome. Make sure to visit other entries as  well. You can find them on Robyn’s blog, Captivate Me HERE or use the tag “One Four Challenge”.

28 comments

    1. I know! I don’t get it. I always check my images in “preview” before posting and was so disappointed to see it come across that way. I’m not sure what the issue is, I know Robyn has had some issues before too. Thanks for making the effort to really see it, hope it is just a fluke! Oh and this is Carrie 🙂

      1. 🙂 I feel overjoyed thinking you might possibly think my images are on par with Cybele and Robyn. No problem! Have a great start to your week.

  1. cool…I never noticed the curve in the rails in the uncropped version…and I like how it changes the angle of view to make it look like you took this photo from an elevated spot!

    1. Interesting observation, it does change the perspective quite a bit. Thanks for noticing. I am always fascinated by what a crop can do for an image. One of the many reasons I like this challenge, getting that opportunity to look further!
      Hmmm now to find another focus for next week…here we go!

  2. he he.. have to laugh at yours and Chris’s commentary 😀
    Carrie, I love this!!! The crop is wonderful and all about those leading lines taking us to the horizon line. Really fantastic and love the cross processed green! LOVE it!!
    Yes I’ve had my share of issues too.. Your image is very sharp in the ‘front’. This doesn’t bother me at all and seems a natural way to view it.. my thoughts only.

    1. 🙂 I am not sure if Chris could tell…I was totally joking about being in similar company! I was just having some fun with her. It happens easily when following so many people and commenting as often as she does!
      Thank you! I am happy to hear you are fond of this crop and version. I am challenged this month because I have nothing prepared! Usually I play with an image before hand to make sure I can get 4+ versions or at least a sense of where I will go with it…not this time. So, I am really appreciative of the feedback!

      1. Chris would totally know you were joking Carrie 😃😃
        I understand – this month I am feeling equally as challenged with my image – without direction, but week by week.
        I found this week 2 edition very appealling!!

    1. Thanks so much, Joanne. Subtle curves are so lovely in photographs. I was so happy I spotted this one and according to you, did it justice. Yay!

  3. Great crop, I kinda wish it was a slightly wider angle view as well just so I can enjoy more of it 🙂

    1. 🙂 Stacey, thank you. I can see your point for sure…it may be a little narrow in view. I’ll chalk it up to keeping some mystery in the image.

    1. Thank you I really appreciate your comment 🙂 I think that curve was masked by the previous edit. Happy to bring it to your attention. Now, what to focus on next week?

    1. Yes, the same image. Crops are so powerful, I agree Emilio. I am curious where I am going with this image as well…better get started for next week!

  4. I really like the crop and the focus on the bend in the track of this one, Carrie. I also love the golden glow – it gives it a real sense of early evening. 🙂

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

