WPC: Off-Season

Photo By: Carrie

Past your prime wilted
weak
folding into
the off-season beyond

The peak
of your beauty creamy
unblemished pure flowing
white smoothly elegant posture
perfect upright

In this final
seasonal state I see
your vulnerable undeniable
eye-catching softened shape

And realize those
perfect
looks distract all
from recognizing
Our own inner beauty

**This post is part of the Weekly Photo Challenge, this week’s theme “Off-Season”. You can find more entries, HERE.

I have watched these Lilies grow and flourish at the edge of my driveway for months in their seasonal prime. They have fascinated me for months and I have had a hard time capturing their presence. I am happy to find a way to share one, finally.

7 comments

  1. you have such a way with words! love these “And realize those
    perfect
    looks distract all
    from recognizing
    Our own inner beauty”
    and the image lovely.
    Can i ask which came first? The image or the words

    1. Hi Laurie, thank you so much for your kind comment! It just makes my day when someone reads my words and wants to know more ๐Ÿ™‚
      Lately, the words rarely come first. I find the images stick with me and after I have edited them, they come first. I took this image yesterday and wrote the words this morning while I was eating breakfast.
      I never really know where I am going with the words, I let them lead and I follow behind picking up the pieces they leave in their wake hopefully catching up to them in time to find a proper ending. In this case, I smiled inside and out when that final part came together. It is true…don’t you think?

      1. Even your reply “I let them lead and I follow behind picking up the pieces they leave in their wake” is great. I love the way the minds of writers work and flow.
        Thanks for sharing your process, Carrie.

  2. I liked this photograph/poem pairing so much. I go hung up on your pairing of the two words “vulnerable undeniable.” they sing in my head and feel good in my mouth when I pronounce them dramatically.

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

