One Four Challenge: June Week 3

Week 3

Photo By: Carrie

And even closer I go this week. I can’t help it, those veins draw me in.

Details:

  • I am sorry to say I can’t remember the steps to get here. This image came about the first week when I was playing around.
  • I started with week 1’s image
  • Cropped as tight as I could while still maintaining most of the integrity of the image
  • I think I used a free preset I downloaded for LR a while back called City Retreat and then adjusted the tonal curve until I liked what I saw. I am sure I also varied the clarity.

I think this is the first month with this challenge that I am really enjoying the image I selected. I will have to remember this for the months to come.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you want to learn more about the One Four Challenge please go to Robyn’s blog at Captivate Me for all the details, Captivate Me. If you are interested in viewing other participants work use your tag search, One Four Challenge.

As always, I appreciate hearing your feedback and suggestions. It is wonderful to hear from you.

19 comments

    1. I agree Leanne, leaf textures really appeal to me. Their vein patterns are like puzzle pieces. I felt like the central vein is a little softer than I would like with this image but overall I was happy with it πŸ™‚

  1. I’m so delighted that you are really enjoying your image this time around Carrie πŸ™‚
    .. and thank you for the closer look!!
    The detail and textures are wonderful πŸ˜€
    What’s next?

    1. Me too, Robyn. It is a nice feeling. I have a sepia toned version I might play a bit more with for next week or I may go in a different direction, depends on if I get a moment to play with this this week or not. πŸ™‚ Happy to hear you enjoy this closer look. There is some mystery there, that I really like.

      1. I always enjoy a closer look Carrie – you never know what you’ll discover πŸ˜ƒ Looking forward to whatever you do next! πŸ˜ƒ

  2. So far a toss up between Week 2, love the colour, and Week 3 where I love the close up of the veins…. interesting to see what next week brings πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks Karen happy to hear your feedback. I have an image for next week but I don’t know if I am going to stick with it…I may get a burst of creativity between now and then πŸ™‚

  3. I love it! πŸ™‚ Actually, I can’t decide which picture I like the best. I especially like how the focus is a little off-center in this one. Looking forward to next week’s image!

    1. Aerykah, thank you. That is so lovely to hear. I agree, it is one of the main reasons I stuck with this edit, that off-center focus. Looking forward to sharing another image next week πŸ™‚

  4. I love this week’s edit. The veins in the leaf are exquisite and the crop you used plays that up. Fantastic. Now, I just wonder what you are going to do for next week πŸ™‚

  5. Gosh, each week is a great version. And this week’s is different again. I often want to take a macro shot of a leaf but it doesn’t seem to have the right composition. Yet this is exactly what you have achieved here. An interesting macro, that focuses on detail as the distraction of colour is taken out of the equation. Well done. The sepia also sounds interesting. I look forward to seeing the final week for this month’s challenge

    1. Thank you! I have started really cropping tight to many of my images lately and finding I like the view. I think it is hard to get a good composition of leaves and other small detailed things in the original image. It happens sometimes but it is rare. Cropping is your friend πŸ™‚ or at least mine!
      Thank you for looking so closely at these edits, I am enjoying this image a lot. Not sure where I am going for this last week…I will know when I get there!

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

