One Four Challenge: June Week 2

 

I have enjoyed experimenting this week with this pretty leaf. I decided to crop out the tree branch from last week making my eye focus more on the intricate details of the leaf veins. I also warmed up the image and did a bit to the coloring hues and image itself to make it stand out like I wanted it to.

Week 2

Photo By: Carrie

Details:

  • – I started with last week’s image in Lightroom. I knew I wanted to warm up the image and bring back all the shadows.  So first I found a crop that I was happy with.
  • – Then I played with the slider bars until I was happy with the look, I wanted the veins of the leaf to show up more so I added a radial filter to the veins and dropped the clarity in the surrounding areas. I added some contrast and shadows as well.
  • – I noticed that behind the shadowed leaf to the left there was a bright green patch that was distracting, so I lowered the green saturation and hue only which helped. The downside of this was the greenish toned leaf on the right of the main leaf lost its meat.
  • – So, I added an adjustment brush to the leaf and did a slight color temp and tint adjustment as well as a few others like clarity, saturation, highlights and contrast to get the right feel of that part of the photograph.
  • – It was a little orange for me still, there was something still missing. So, I tried to adjust it with split toning. I think it softened the colors a bit which I like.

So, there it is, a second version of this image. I would appreciate hearing your opinion and any suggestions. It is always helpful to hear from you. And please check out Robyn’s post at Captivate Me Captivate Me for other entries as well as all the specifics of how to join us. This is such a wonderful challenge.

20 comments

    1. Thank you, Aerykah. Cropping can always make such a difference! And yet, I find it isn’t always easy finding one that works. Happy to hear it works for you.

    1. Well, then you may like next week…I couldn’t help myself 🙂 Thanks for the feedback, I am really happy I chose this image. I am enjoying the view!

    1. Thank you so much for your feedback, Kristen. I am happy to hear your eye goes to the veins, that was what I was hoping for. Cropping is so fun! And, I love these deep warm colors. Thank you.

    1. Thank you, Cybele. I am so happy you enjoy it. I like the warm tone too and was really happy to find this crop! Looking forward to sharing next week’s already 🙂

    1. Thank you, Louise. I really appreciate that 🙂 Cropping is so fun! Looking forward to getting a look at your edit this week, it has been a busy week so far!

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

