One Four Challenge- March Wk 3

Week 3 is here! This week’s edit is a tighter crop than last week. There is a bit of a painted effect to this edit although I only edited the image in Lightroom. I was going for a frame-filling edit that maintained the interesting details of the petals. I could see this edit on a greeting card.

Attempt 3

Photo By: Carrie

Please click the image for best viewing results.

Details:

  • I started with week 2’s edit, usually I start from the original but not this time, and I cropped it to start.
  • Then I started to work with the usual settings, I discovered I didn’t like how it was looking so I zeroed almost everything, exposure, shadows, vibrancy, clarity, highlights.
  • I immediately dropped the clarity all the way (-100) and liked the feel of the flower instantly. Then I raised the vibrancy a lot (86) I have never done this before, I always think the color gets blown out but that didn’t happen this time. I also raised saturation (10).
  • Then I started working on the pink streaks in the upper petal, they were jumping out at me against the soft white petals. I lowered individual saturation for red, magenta and purple but nothing really helped. So, I started using the spot removal tool and found some success with that. There is still a bit of pink there but it isn’t as noticeable, to me at least.
  • I played with the radial filter already in place in the center of the flower to give it a natural look, there was a deep shadow in the center that was distracting. And I created a large filter to act as a slight vignette around the outside edges, I thought it added a little drama to the image.

So, that is where I went with this image this week. I really do like to see the number of crop opportunities with this image. The process was more enjoyable this week, too.

Please check out Robyn’s fine blog, Captivate Me for this week’s versions. You can find all of our links in her comments of this week’s post. Or used your tag search, using One Four Challenge. I always appreciate feedback and comments, thank you for taking time to do so. It is very motivating to know your thoughts and opinions.

31 comments

  1. What a wonderful edit, Carrie, my favourite so far. I just feel like touching those delicate, soft petals and the lovely golden stamens. The crop is especially effective too.

    1. Yes Ben, I agree. I am going to try and see if I can make that happen for next week. I am curious if it is possible, I think it might be.
      I like the macro feel too, thank you!

      1. I think if I start with that to begin with, it will help. Since this was from the second week’s edit, (where I downshifted the clarity significantly) I started with a soft center.
        I’ll see what I can do, hopefully it will work out and if not…well, good to know too πŸ™‚ Thanks, Ben.

      1. You’re welcome! I know the feeling. OFTEN I look at the pictures and realize I should’ve done this or that. I think I’d like that 4-way challenge because of it, although I don’t participate.

      2. Yes, I think you would too. The 3rd week is usually where the creative images start for all of us and the 4th week is very challenging. I will say I never know what image to choose, that is just as much of a challenge!

      3. πŸ™‚ There are no rules actually. Just tag “One Four Challenge” and each week, starting Monday Robyn’s time (Sunday ours) post a new version. You can go into as little or intrecate detail as you want for how you edited your photograph. At the end of the month you showcase all 4 edits and the original. I learn so much from each of my own edits and others as well, great group! Next month we are doing a look back, so the next one would be May.

  2. Nice job Carrie, great use of radial filters. I like the crop too tho my brain wanted to see just a bit more of the center flower for some reason LOL silly brain!

    1. I actually wanted a bit more of the center flower too, I tried to get a little more but it didn’t have the same effect. Or at least the effect I liked as much as this crop. Thank you for your feedback!

  3. Love this pretty delicate poppy too Carrie and really like that you’ve taken us in for a closer view. I think the pink might’ve been interesting too 😜 although I realise it would completely change the image 🌸 Cant Wait to see what you do next!! πŸ˜ƒ

    1. Thank you, Robyn. The pink was distracting since it was so concentrated and not a soft pink. I hope to see if I can get the center sharper and move on from there…who knows where it will go, always fun to find out!

    1. Me either, Louise. Not sure where I am going with it…hoping to get some more sharpness in the center, still thinking. Thank you, I appreciate the detail in this week’s edit too!

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

