Day 3: Top 5 Monochrome Madness

Photo By: Carrie

Today, strive

To take up the entire frame

Of your own life

Posted: May 13, 2014

I was nominated by The Story Tellers Abode to take part for 5 days, posting a black and white image and a story/poem/writing each day. Louise hosts a lovely blog with enchanting images and touching stories and poems. Her blog is worth a look through.

I am encouraged to pass the nomination along but I don’t really want to specifically name people. Instead, I am going to offer a link to 5 of my favorite photographers that mostly shoot in black and white. If you would like to take part in this ongoing challenge please consider yourself nominated. Simple enough. Today’s photographer is FATman Photos, I have followed Adrian ever since I was introduced to him by Leanne Cole. He is a wealth of knowledge and sees the world through his lens in unique angles and shadows. Some of my favorite images of his are found in the Somerset Levels, HERE.

10 comments

    1. Thank you, Louise. I was so proud of this image when I posted it a while back. My husband thought I was nuts, why turn something so colorful into bw. But, I just love the textures and lines that come forward!
      The peacock was up in a tree so I could get this close to its tail feathers ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy to hear you enjoy it as much as me! Thank you.

    1. Thank you, Sarah. It was fun being this close to tail feathers of a peacock. He was up in a tree, his feathers were at eye level. Lucky me ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thank you, Julia. I love it when my eyes (the photograph) and my heart (the words) come together. It is what makes blogging so rewarding for me! I really appreciate your kind comment, thank you.

  1. Carrie, this image is really great. It would not be a first instinct to put an image of gorgeous peacock feathers in monochrome, but it completely works and is lovely.
    Your words though, really struck me:

    “Today, strive

    To take up the entire frame

    Of your own life”

    I’m going to have to print that out and put it where I can see it, read it, and think on it, every day.

    1. Awe, Laurie, you just made my day! I love hearing that. Those words are poingnent, I was very grateful when the came to me ๐Ÿ™‚ I have thought of these words a lot since writing them and really appreciate the simplicity yet huge challenge they impose.
      Happy to hear you like the feathers too, I was shocked at how much texture came forward. Thank you so much!!

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

