Day 2: Top 5 Monochrome Madness

Photo By: Carrie

Houda Point, CA

Black Eyes:

Staring you down
Don’t get to close, the wilds
Waves rolling

Find a perch, basque
Into the view feeling
The earth is alive beneath you

Mother nature showing off
Wait
Is that her laughing

You can’t help but feel it deep
Your chest yearning with each new wave approaching
Just stay

Hear, no matter what
Happens stay and embrace
The knowing

Posted 1/20/15

It is here, week 52 of Monochrome Madness. Each week, for a year, Leanne Cole and Laura Macky have brought together photographers from all corners of the world. Asking for monochrome images. The gallery HERE this week is made up of our favorite entry from the past year. We are encouraged to include a gallery of other entries, so here is my gallery from past Monochrome Madness entries. I participated in 45 of the 52 weeks.

I was nominated by The Story Tellers Abode to take part for 5 days, posting a black and white image and a story/poem/writing each day. Louise hosts a lovely blog with enchanting images and touching stories and poems. Her blog is worth a look through.

I am encouraged to pass the nomination along but I don’t really want to specifically name people. Instead, I am going to offer a link to 5 of my favorite photographers that mostly shoot in black and white. If you would like to take part in this ongoing challenge please consider yourself nominated. Simple enough. Today’s photographer is Imagery of Light, I am new to her blog but I really appreciate her work. As her blog name implies she uses light as a main focus of her photographs. She doesn’t strictly shoot in black and white but there is a monochromatic feel to her simple elegant images that I think fits with this theme. HERE is an example.

21 comments

  1. Glorious light and presentation of your work Carrie. I’m so glad we’ve gotten to know each other just a bit through the blogosphere. Some day…hopefully soon when we come up north I’ll let you know beforehand. What fun it would be to take pics together!

    1. Me too, Laura. Thank you for your kind words and continued support. I would LOVE to get an opportunity to met and photograph together. I am hopeful and looking forward to that!

    1. Thank you, Pike. I am so glad you enjoy them. It really means a lot to hear you say you do, I am such a fan of your work 🙂 I am so lucky to live among such giant trees, they have such character which comes out distinctly in bw.
      The first image is my latest favorite perch, the ocean swirls wildly below and the sky goes on forever! Thank you again.

  2. Gorgeous picture, Carrie. The sky is fascinating; the light, as Laura says, is glorious. 🙂 I remember that poem from when you posted it in January. I loved it then and I still love it now. 😀

    1. Thank you so much, Louise. This photograph feels like a culmination of progress over the past year. I am so happy you like it. And the words, I remember you enjoying them the first time around, thank you.
      This is a favorite perch, I went the other day to see a storm rolling in with my son, he wants it to be our secret place now…it is a very powerful place.

  3. Fantastic collection Carrie, I am loving seeing everyone’s images in their galleries, it is wonderful. You have some fantastic images here. Thank you for being part of MM.

    1. It is like a Monochrome take over 🙂 I love it. Thank you for your kind regard of my images, it means a lot. MM has a special place in my heart, looking forward to continuing for another year!

  4. I love seeing your gallery of work together and it’s such a pleasure to recognise many from this past year of MM. I think we may have met through MM and for that I am very grateful! 😀
    Beautiful ‘seeing’.

    1. Yes, I think you are right. I marvel at Macro loveliness and your work caught my eye right away.
      I am grateful too, Robyn. Thank you for the compliments and support, it is very touching.

  5. Lovely images, Carrie. Thanks for the shout out. I’m actually doing a B&W Challenge this week for the first time!! so as soon as this is done, I will focus on your new challenge… 🙂 What fun!

    1. Hi Sheila, thank you for taking time to comment. You don’t have to participate at all unless you are feeling the BW urge again 🙂 I just wanted to feature some bloggers that I respect and admire their work. I am new to your blog but I really appreciate your simple yet striking use of light. Although I would love to see your work in the Monochrome Madness Challenge, it is a great challenge! You should check it out.
      I really appreciate your comment 🙂 Thank you!

    1. Houda Point is quite a place. I felt so lucky that day to live here and know that this vista is only a 10 min drive from where I live.
      Thank you for your kind words of my gallery, I have enjoyed this challenge so much, especially meeting and enjoying people like you 🙂

    1. Awe, you are awesome for going through each one! That is such a nice offering, thank you. It really is fun looking back. My reader was FULL of monochrome yesterday that was so cool!

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

