Day 1: Top Five of Monochrome Madness

Photo By: Carrie

I find myself looking deeply into the tiny details of a given moment, I can easily get lost. I notice this happens when I have my camera near me as well. I donโ€™t look at my surroundings in the same way. My thoughts go quiet, I actually hold my breath, I have no idea how much time has passed, how many photographs I have taken. Most of the time one or both of my sons have moved on, around a bend in the trail, it is almost always time to catch up when I finally look up. –posted April 29, 2014

I love black and white images, I always have. My wedding photographer asked me twice if I was serious when I said I wanted 70% of my wedding photos in black and white, this was before digital cameras were mainstream. I think of black and white images as elegant story tellers, color can hide details uncovered by stripping the photograph. As I am sure you are aware, I love details.

When I learned about the Monochrome Madness challenge a year ago I knew I wanted to join in. But, I had never converted an image to black and white before. Leanne Cole was hosting this challenge, her images blew me away and she had over 20,000 followers then which was very intimidating. She said the challenge was open to anyone, she wouldn’t turn away an image, so I decided to join in. I have learned so much and within the talented group of participants I have found great teachers, mentors and long distance friends.

So, this challenge means a lot to me, I have not participated every week within the year but the majority of the weeks I have. It feels right to give it some extra time looking back on the images over the past year. I will include the poems or stories I posted with the images as well.

I was nominated by The Story Tellers Abode to take part for 5 days, posting a black and white image and a story/poem/writing each day. Louise hosts a lovely blog with enchanting images and touching stories and poems. Her blog is worth a look through.

I am encouraged to pass the nomination along but I don’t really want to specifically name people. Instead, I am going to offer a link to 5 of my favorite photographers that mostly shoot in black and white. If you would like to take part in this ongoing challenge please consider yourself nominated. Simple enough. Today’s photographer is The Gravel Ghost, one of my top three favorite bloggers. She sees photographic opportunities in the most desolate places and brings their beauty forward. HERE is one of my favorite of her posts, well worth a read.

5 comments

  1. Beautiful picture, Carrie. The white of the buds is quite stunning. I also find the detail around the stems fascinating. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m exactly the same when taking photographs – I can completely lose myself in the shots. A walk that usually takes 20 minutes can take hours when I have a camera in my hands! Thanks for taking part in the Challenge. I look forward to the rest of your posts. ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. Thank you, Louise. I don’t think you saw the original post of this image. These buds are so small! They are a tiny weed I found when walking with my son. I couldn’t believe the detail I was able to capture. They were really fun to photograph.
      Glad to hear you are a “lost in photography” hiker too ๐Ÿ™‚ I love that! Fun to put these image together for this week. I love looking back! Thank you for thinking of me.

  2. Oh Carrie, I can so relate to every word (except my sons, as I have one and he is now all grown) you said – I forget to breathe and get lost too.
    What a lovely way to celebrate MM – for 5 days!

    1. Thank you, Robyn. I realized when I was putting these posts together that MMC really does mean a lot to me. It is the catalyst of so much of my creativity and I have found inspiration from so many incredible photographers there.
      Yes, I know you appreciate the details, like me. Every opportunity I have to wander into the details is another bit of time my heart is happy. So, I will continue to wander and enjoy. Thank you, your comment means a lot!

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

