One Four Challenge- March wk 1

Photo By: Carrie

March is here and so are the poppies. For this month I decided I wanted to explore FotoSketcher more and I found a merging option in FotoSketcher this week, I actually jumped up from my computer and started dancing when I saw it. I have wanted to merge effects easily and now I can. I am looking forward to working on this lovely wind-blown poppy.

Details:

  • Brought the original image into FotoSketcher and started playing with options
  • Original

  • Chose Emergent 2 effect and played with the settings until I liked the effect
  • Looked through the texture options until I liked one, decided on texture #8 with normal texture
  • Clicked the “draw” button
  • Emergence 2 with Texture 8

  • Went back to the menu and selected “merge source and results” effect. I played with the light/dark and other two settings until I liked the effect.
  • My result for week 1

Robyn from Captivate me hosts this great challenge each week. You can find other participants work in the comments of THIS POST or you can use your tag search using the tag “One Four Challenge”. If you are interested in learning about photo editing this is a great challenge, finding four versions of an image is a true challenge, I learn something each month. Anyone is welcome to join in.

I would love to hear what you think about my merged effect poppy. Your comments, feedback and creative thoughts always create an opportunity for me to learn and grow.

28 comments

    1. Thank you, Chris. That is the emergence effect. It takes many sizes of triangles and layers them together. I was so excited to see poppies growing, it feels like spring has sprung πŸ™‚

  1. Ah so gorgeous Carrie- moody and beautiful.
    Love it.. and also really like the Emergence step on its own.
    I do hope you’re enjoying your new camera? Is that right? Hope so!! πŸ˜ƒ

    1. Yes, this is an image from my NEW camera πŸ™‚ I do love it, I went with a sony RX100, it will be a learning process to get a hang of all the features and options. But for now…it takes beautiful images and I don’t have to look through a scratched lens, huge bonus!
      Oh and thank you! I am happy you like it, I was so excited to see I can merge images…let the fun begin!

      1. Oh excellent – looks like you’re going to have some more fun and learning – and no scratched lens. Definitely a bonus πŸ˜ƒ
        This is a wonderful start! I love poppies!

  2. Congrats on the new camera, its a nice image and got lots of potential. Overall I liked your process but there are two things that I noticed that were a distraction. One is the bottom petal that is fully lit had quite a lot of texture and detail in it in your original image, which is great for a white thing, but you lost that in your processing and now its just a big bright white blob – I know I am a bit nit picky about these things πŸ™‚ but only cos I have been called out on it myself so many times so I am quite sensitive to it LOL

    Second, and this is more an artifact of the process, but the petal in the top LH corner had pink streaks thru it in your original and something odd happened with one of your texture layers that broke it up and made it all patchy. TBH that was the first thing I noticed when I looked at your image πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, Stacey, for taking the time to comment. I see what you see now, my eye was drawn to the deeper colors in the background and the textured center of the poppy which I really liked. And, this is the first time I have had an opportunity to see two images blend together by my own doing, I was so excited by it.
      But, yes, the pinkish streaks are most pronounced in the final version and the detail in that lower right petal is lost.
      As I move forward, I will keep track of these trouble spots…always learning!

      1. I know what you mean, its easy to get so involved in the details you forget to look outside that, been there done that myself πŸ™‚

        I got interrupted by a cat on the keyboard last night – I recommend you check out the Lightweight Photographer – he has a Sony RX10 and talks a lot about using it and his experiences as he does wonderful landscapes in the UK

      2. Thank you for the recommendation, Stacey. I will definitely check him out. I have been reading the book written specifically for the RX100 by Alexander White, it is very helpful. Lots to learn but really excited to start cracking the code πŸ™‚
        I am so happy to have a new camera, my previous point and shoot was great but it got a large deep scratch on the lens about 10 months ago…I have been saving to buy something that I could grow with ever since. I am so happy to see clearly again!

      3. No problem, he shoots with several different cameras but recently started posting about working with the Sony on his blog. Yay for shiny new toy goodness, I got a new camera and some Lee filters for Xmas but havent had much chance to use them for various reasons.

        Look forward to seeing lovely new pix from you!

    1. Good to hear from you, Ben. Thank you for your feedback. I can totally see where the background might feel like too much.
      I am looking forward to working with this image in the weeks to come, hopefully one of my edits will strike you better πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you. I started playing with it for next week today, it is fun! It crops well and there are a few ideas I have. It feels like I have somewhere to go with it, more so than last month so that is very refreshing!

  3. Nice subject choice (and congrats for the new camera) I love how you deepened the background … the flower stands out giving one the sensation of being able to actually touch it.

    1. Thank you, Bastet. I am so happy you felt that, a great compliment.
      And, thanks for the congrats, I am so happy with my new camera…not sure how it use it to its potential yet but I am excited to learn how!

    1. Thank you! It is really fun to play in that program…time files by πŸ™‚
      I am happy to hear you liked the merge, It was so interesting to see where details from one of the other came through.

    1. Thank you, Cybele. I stopped quick when I saw this poppy blowing in the wind. I like how the petals look like they are actually blowing (or at least their shape gives that impression).
      I am excited to work on this image this month, there is some room to play! I felt a little confined last month so this is a nice change.

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

