Day 8 Prompt- Drawer Ode Apostrophe

Writer’s Fright:

Frantically looking here, everywhere
Even just a tiny creak a clue to their perfect hiding place
But there is nothing, not a sound

It’s not fair! I scream in a brow curled scowl
Stop hiding, I know you are there!
My feet stomp emphatically

At the absurdity of this situation I fight in place
Frozen in a twist of disbelief almost out of possibilities
Losing my carefully built up confidence

Quickly. Why now? What is the point of losing something
So intrinsically me
I am always keeping track of them they even visit me when I am sleeping

Usually they can’t help themselves chattering aloud most days and nights
This has happened maybe twice, silence
I am quickly unnerved I find I just start spinning

Getting dizzy at the slightest thought, eventually
I knew it would come to this, the final drawer where they will be
Bitterly daring myself to open it

Do it, quick before they are gone
You will have no where to start from!
But I worry if I let them fly free, startled

Open to the wind they will scatter never to return.
Leaving me mute, trapped
Held as a hostage, disappearing indefinitely

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today’s assignment, write a Ode poem about something you might find in a drawer using one or more apostrophe. An Ode is described as “An ode is a laudatory poem celebrating a person, an object, a place, etc. It can come in any form these days, having shed its ancient (and much stricter) formal requirements.” The use of an apostrophe is described “You can write a poem that is made up entirely of one extended apostrophe, or switch back and forth between addressing your reader and addressing someone (or something) else.”

I am curious if you figured out what is hiding from me in the drawer? Can you believe these Canadian geese?

There were thousands of them in this field near my home. I got out of the car to see if I could figure out a way to take a photograph of them. They were far enough from the fence where it wasn’t a great photographic moment. So, I stayed there marveling at the view and then out of no where, starting from the left and moving to the right they all starting taking off into the sky, like a well choreographed dance. And then, they were all gone.

15 comments

    1. Thank you, Chris, I am sure you have seen birds do this on a number of occasions…a first for me. Yes, difficult for sure. My brain hurt last night trying to figure out what I was going to say…hence the late post. I decided to go with writers block…the words were easy to come by and I thought the geese tied in nicely.
      I was so taken by surprise at these birds, I had no time to set anything up…just clicked away and hoped I got something. It really was incredible, I was so glad I took a moment and stayed…what a show!

      1. Hi again, Carrie… I have never seen geese in such a large flock, but we sometimes see shearwaters in their thousands raft up together on the ocean. It is quite a sight when as we approach on our boat, they all decide to take off! Quite breathtaking! And noisy too!

      2. Awesome! I don’t think I have ever seen so many geese in one place either. But, they are here, in the thousands. They even swim together in the bay 🙂 There are many surprises like this here, I love finding myself in the middle of natural wonder here, I feel so lucky to have moved here!

  1. Carrie, I’ve seen geese like this too!!! Never have I seen flocks of geese in such huge numbers and NOT flying in V-formation either. What’s up with that? One day I say thousands of geese just coming and coming and coming. There must have been 10’s of thousands of them. I was stunned. And here you saw this as well. Wow!!! Love, Amy

    1. I have moved to a new place recently so I don’t know the comings and goings of this area yet. I am just taking in what I see, everyday. I had to pull over when I saw the geese resting in a field. I wasn’t the only one, many people stopped to enjoy the honks and flock. I was so surprised when they, out of the blue, starting lifting off together. It only took about 20 seconds for all of them to leave the field…and then it was quiet.
      Love that you have witnessed this as well, Marvelous!

    1. Thank you, Laura. It was such a cool sight, so many geese taking off together. Like they were done resting and on there way again. I felt so lucky to get to witness this, it was so unexpected!

  2. I’m thinking that maybe, in this intriguing poem, you are trying to find some thoughts you had and intended to act on, possibly an idea for a photograph or the first two lines of a poem, something you were sure you would remember, but can’t for the life of you remember. Or maybe I speak from my own experience, not yours. Even if I’m way off base, I loved the word flow and the mystery of this poem, Carrie.

    1. I like your ideas…the first two lines of this poem, that is a great thought! You are close, for sure.
      I could not, for the life of me, come up with something I wanted to write about, in a drawer. So, I thought I would write about what it feels like when the words don’t come, what feels to me like writers block. I am speaking directly to the words and nervous that they will leave me for good if I let them free.
      I happened upon the thousands of geese resting on Sunday. I thought of these images immediately when I thought of my words hiding in a drawer ready to be free. So, I went for it. Abstract yes, but fun to write 🙂

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

