Day 4: Prompt- Animal Concrete Poetry Enjambment

Photo By: Carrie

Hidden Wings:

                                    Brief
                      An intermission in the stormy skies
            Looming, I have a few minutes before my next "have to"
           with my camera jumping out of my pocket I wander simply
           Among the planted garden looking for raindrops glistening on 
          Branches, petals with the hints of fresh sunshine illuminating
             Tiny jewels, my eye catches a damp but wonderful Iris
           Her petals clumped together like chewed purple gum, not much
          Of a wonder and yet I am drawn so I carefully lift her petals
          to uncover her beautiful layers and ruffles to my surprise
                            A creature stirs beneath
                            The petal I just turned
                            I jump with a start
                            Then move in slowly to see
                            A moth hunkered down
                            Trying to weather out
                            The storm he is safe
                            And dry and curious
                            We stare at each other
                            Neither of us move            blink
                            But I did admire his natural abilities
                            For quite a long time my nose to the
                            Petals wondering how long this creature
                              Was quiet listening to the rain
                               Pouring and then it starts
                                    Again

Photo By: Carrie

Our assignment for day 4, write a poem about an animal in concrete poetry form, “Generally speaking, any poem that’s typographically arranged to represent a specific shape (recognizable or not) is a concrete, or “shape” poem.” I am also using today’s device, enjambment. This complicated looking word simply means (so I learned), when a grammatical sentence stretches from one line of verse to the next. I use this device a lot in my poems but I never knew it had a name, it is very effective in telling the kind of story I like to tell.

I had no idea how difficult it would be to format this text. The text editor has different margins than what can be published…so that was a lot of trial and error. Can you tell what my “shape” is? I would love to hear what you think of this poem and my surprised moth.

4 comments

  1. I studied your stunning photograph, as I always do, before looking at the poem and knew immediately that it was the umbrella the flower provided for the moth. Then I read the poem and especially enjoyed the moth listening to the rain which then began again. I haven’t seen a better example of concrete poetry (which I don’t think I’ll do again; the formatting is painful).

    1. Oh you are sweet, Janet. Yes, concrete poetry is painful! Who knew the text editor and published page have different margins, that is so not cool. I love that you see the connections between my words and images. I find, I can’t do one usually without the other. Thank you for your feedback…sincerely.

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

