One Four Challenge- December wk 3

Week 3, for December is here. I must admit, I have wanted to turn one of my images into an art piece for some time. I had not idea how to do it. I have seen many bloggers claim it was easy, just a click or two. But, I didn’t believe them.

Well, now I do. In November’s challenge, Sari, did an oil painting process on her sweet forest mushroom. It was so beautiful and I knew I wanted to choose an image for December where I thought I might be able to try it. She was kind enough to tell me what program she used, I was very happy to see it was free and simple to figure out. I downloaded a copy of FotoSketcher and started playing.

At first I thought I wanted a watercolor, it seemed the most logical transition. You have a few options including the edge threshold, overall contrast and lightening/darkening parameters. There are multiple types of drawing types too from pencil, to pen, many paint mediums and even cartoon options. I used week 2’s version for the starting point.

Photo By: Carrie

I liked the watercolor quite a bit, it was really cool to watch it come to life. But then I tried the pencil sketch 3 (color) option. I really liked it. I fiddled with the contrast, color intensity and brush stroke length some more until I was settled with the results. I will say, it isn’t like Lightroom where your edits are happening in real-time. I would make a change, press “draw”, see what happened, make another change, “draw”, repeat. But, it was great fun.

Photo By: Carrie

I settled on this version, I really appreciate the light reflections.

Please let me know your thoughts and ideas, it is great to hear from you and learn. Looking forward to seeing all the other submissions this week as well. If you wondering and interested in getting involved in this challenge, head over to Robyn’s blog Captivate Me HERE, and check out her post with all the details, then scroll to the comments to find other participants or check out the tag “One Four Challenge”.

43 comments

    1. Thank you! I know, it feels a little like cheating, well actually a lot, knowing how much talent and work would go into an original of something like this. It was fun to see it transform before my eyes on my screen though. A fun program to play with.

      1. Okay, I am standing strong in my digital art piece. Thank you. It is a lot of fun, I am enjoying it, for sure. Thank you for the encouragement and perspective.

  1. Gotta love Sarah’s encouraging words! Good on you Sarah πŸ™‚

    Carrie, I love what you’ve tried here and I really like the choice you made.
    While I too am partial to watercolour, I like the process you chose, because it is light and it does shine, but also it enhances the textures and I love the embossed feel. There is also a softness that is very appealing and still painterly.

    Just a thought I had, so may as well share – I thought I’d love to see these 2 layers combined πŸ˜€
    Really great edits this week!

    1. Me too! My husband is a talented artist, he loves pen, watercolor, and I think his impression of this when I shared it with him, left me a bit self conscious.
      I agree about the enhances textures too, Robyn. I really liked that when I saw it. And the light really moves through out this version, more so than in the watercolor.
      Your idea is so interesting. I have not worked with layers yet. I know it isn’t possible in lightroom…it is a seed I may have to water πŸ™‚ Thank you.

      1. I know how you feel Carrie – as someone who paints a bit and would like to do so much more, I understand.
        Week 3 is lovely and digital is another realm on its own completely. We definitely work to achieve our results here too.
        GIMP is free comprehensive software that uses layers – just sayin’ in case 😜
        Do love the light – I know, I said that already πŸ˜„

      2. Oh yes, these results do amount to “work”. Thank you for the GIMP suggestion. I may look into it…I am really starting to get away from the shore with this photo editing! Yay!

  2. You are starting to sound like the rest of us Carrie, all this editing talk, it is great, sounds like you are going to be having a lot of fun with it all from now on.
    I saw Robyn’s comment, have you ever worked with GIMP, it is free to use and download, and you can work in layers in that. could be an interesting addition to Lightroom.

    1. No, I haven’t worked with GIMP. I feel like it was suggested as an option, by you, a while back. You are right, it could be an interesting addition. We will see how motivated I am in the next week πŸ™‚
      If not, it will be a great project to work on and share at anytime. Thank you for the encouragement.
      Yes, well, “sounding like the rest of us” is great company to be in. So, that sounds good to me. I am really having fun and learning so much. Thanks, Leanne.

  3. Welcome to the artistic corner, Carrie! Love what you’ve achieved – both the watercolour and more textural version. Very painterly, very effective textures and embossing effect in the sky. Thanks for mentioning the app you used too. These interpretations really give a new dimension to ‘post processing’ don’t they!

    1. You are so right, Chris. I did week 2’s edits and started working on week 3 right after. My mind was blown at the possibilities with this program. I was so excited.
      I am enjoying this artistic corner and really appreciate all the encouragement. Thank you. I have always appreciated textural paintings, watercolor or other mediums. They are very soothing to me. Thanks again!

  4. *laugh* I did oil paint effect this week LOL great minds think alike.

    Really like how you showed your two versions, the first watercolour image is nice, its certainly watercolour, but I far prefer the second one with that edge detail in the clouds. Gives it more depth, the top one feels a little flat to me.

    1. Yes, I agree. I felt the same way about the watercolor and couldn’t find a way to bring oomph to the sky, with the limited knowledge I have of this program.
      So, I moved on..and I was so happy to see the detail more pronounced in the second version.
      Looking forward to seeing your oil paint effect, I always love those. Thanks for your comments and feedback, I really appreciate it.

  5. I love your result this week but mostly I loved your desire to explore with different views and apps.. This exercise is set to push you to do just that..explorations and discoveries ! well done !
    I like the sky brushes and water reflection !πŸ˜€

    1. Thank you, I like those effects too. I was so happy to see the light evenly and tastefully distributed. It doesn’t feel like I have very much control of the outcome with this program. There is a bit, but not as much as I am used to.
      Yes, this is why I blog πŸ™‚ I love to learn and there are so many talented people sharing their craft, I feel so lucky to be part of this challenge!

    1. Oh, you should. It is fun! I am loving the “vintage” setting at the moment. Now I need to learn how to layer, so I can include multiple textures…that is for another month I think πŸ™‚
      Thank you for your kind comment, I really appreciate it.

    1. Thank you, Pam πŸ™‚ I am really loving this challenge. I really enjoy watching these images transform. And, especially when I don’t have something specific in mind. Thank you for your feedback, I appreciate it!

  6. Hi there Carrie, isn’t this challenge great for trying new things. Of the images I really like ether watercolour and thanks for passing on all your tips. I eep messing around in Lightroom and Photoshop but am hardly touching the surface I am sure. πŸŽ…

    1. Your edits are beautiful each week MM, I always look forward to them. I am completely touching the surface in LR, total newbie πŸ™‚ It is fun messing around though.
      This week I used a different software, FotoSketcher, it’s free and FUN. Easy too. A great way to mix things up πŸ™‚ I am happy you like the art textures, they were fun to watch transform!

  7. That’s such a fantastic “painting” technique you used .. the first of this week’s process was great .. but the end result with the fog and reflections is just so very lovely .. interesting program you used, I’d never heard of it!

    1. I have seen others add a technique like this to their photographs but I really never understood how to do it. This freeware is remarkably easy, I am probably only scratching the surface of its abilities. You should check it out, great tool to have for all these weeks of editing!
      I really love the reflections and depth to the second one too. The first felt a bit flat…so I kept going! Thank you so much for your kind feedback.

      1. Checked it out and tried it for this week’s Wordless Wednesday on both my blogs. Just a quick trial … one with the portable model the installed on my computer. So many thanks for this new tool!

        I think this is turning out to be a very interesting challenge … Ciao, Georgia.

  8. My wife is very happy that you shared the FotoSketcher info. Now, instead of blaming it on Lightroom that she never sees me, she can blame it on FotoSketcher. I haven’t even taken a look at the program yet but based on your images here, I am already hooked!

    1. Ha! Well, I think your wife may be okay with it. I think it took me 5 min to make the watercolor and perhaps another 5 to do the pencil drawing. It’s magic! When ever you do, enjoy! It is so fun to work in. I am having a blast with it.

    1. Thank you Priceless Joy, I like the second one more too. The light is much better, in my opinion. This was so fun to try, I love the painting effects πŸ™‚

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

