Photography 101 (days 22-26)

One day late, but I made it! My family went on a camping trip and then celebrated Thanksgiving away from home. So, I wasn’t up and current with this weeks themes. I was happy to see that many of the themes work well with photographs I took on our trip. We had such a great time and I made sure to carve out time during the “golden hours” in the early morning and late afternoon to enjoy my surroundings and work on my photography skills I have learned this month.

Thank you so much for reading these lengthy posts, I really did have fun putting them together. Happy Thanksgiving.

Day 22- TREASURE

Photo By: Carrie

Glass Beach, Fort Bragg CA

Who doesn’t love sea glass. The rounded edges, cloudy muted colors and moving the pieces in your hand. This beach named, glass beach is easily accessible. I was very skeptical that there would actually still be sea glass on this beach. But, I was so wrong. The beach is filled with sea glass, hiding in little crevasses in the rocks, you dig down a foot and still find sea glass mixed in with the sand and shells. This was a wonderful surprise, we all sat down and started collecting our treasure.

Day 23- GLASS

Photo By: Carrie

When we left for our camping trip I had this theme in mind. We were about to eat dinner and the sun turned my beer bottle into a lantern. I thought it would make a great interpretation of “glass”. Beer always tastes better when you are camping, I think. Especially with ocean waves in the distance, hundreds of chirping birds and two very happy boys eating hot dogs.

Day 24- EDGE

Photo By: Carrie

Mackerricher State Park, Fort Bragg CA

This view felt like I was on the edge of everything. The sun had just set and this man in the distance stood still and silent for many minutes after the sun dipped below the horizon. It is no wonder why, this is not somewhere one often gets to marvel at our world. Finding yourself on the edge of this view is overwhelming.

I love how small he looks compared to the horizon, ocean and land he stands on.

Day 25- DOUBLE

Photo By: Carrie

Mackerricher State Park, Fort Bragg CA

There were two silhouettes many feet apart admiring the view the first night we were camping. I was running along a boardwalk chasing the sunset. I saw the sun start to dip below the horizon and knew this was as close as I was going to get. Those moments between when the sun is still above and then below the horizon. You can feel the sense of speed our Earth turns at. If you blink, you miss it. As is the case with most moments I guess.

Day 26- TRIUMPH

Photo By: Carrie

Mackerricher State Park, Fort Bragg CA

It is a triumph, to continue a challenge for a month. I am so happy I did it! And, my greatest triumph of our camping trip was getting up before the sun. It is cold, but really worth it. I walked along a dew soaked path. It was just me and a few hundred coots. I swear they were having races back and forth on the lake.

The steam rising off the lake as the sun rose was beautiful. The hints of pink, the swishing of my wet feet on the path, the silence. It was worth leaving my cozy sleeping bag and family back in the tent.

 

 

15 comments

  1. The beer bottle lantern is a real surprise – what a fantastic shot. The foggy tracing the shore it beautiful, too. Nice to be up and about when the world is calm and quiet and soothing.

    1. Yes, I totally agree. Such a surprise to see my beer glowing! I do love being up at dawn, but my body does not. I don’t function well all day after an early morning. But, I may have to start figuring it out. There is a peace in the morning that lasts all day!

  2. Nice interpretation of the daily themes,Carrie. Especially like Treasure – it takes me back to my childhood on the coast of Normandy in France when we used to search for glass and fossils! And Triumph is a serene shot too! Chris

    1. 🙂 Thank you, Chris. There were lots of little shells and corals too. I could have stayed there all day, picking and collecting. It was so amazing, a long stretch of beach. The triumph shot was very serene and I really appreciate you taking time to read through this post. Thank you!

  3. These are some lovely pictures. My favourites are glass and triumph, though they’re all great. The only time I ever manage to get out before dawn is when I’m camping. I do love being able to crawl out of my tent and be amongst nature. 🙂

    1. Ha! Me too, getting up before dawn is unnecessary most of the time. But, when we are camping dawn finally arrives and I am ready to move. We go to sleep mighty early when we camp, our boys are tired early. The sun went down early too, so that helped. I was well rested and happy to explore. Thank you for taking the time to read through this post. I really appreciate your feedback. And, congratulations on completing photo 101 too!

  4. You made me feel like I was there. I love sea glass, and it’s been a few years since I’ve seen any. What a wonderful way to spend the holidays.

    1. Oh thanks, Miriam. I think it was the first time I have found sea glass. Especially like that! It really was a special trip, I can still close my eyes and hear the waves!

  5. Happy Thanksgiving! Your images are lovely! Fat Tire is such a yummy beer and your photo is yummy, too! Silhouettes, sea glass, mist on the lake … great post, Carrie!

    1. Thank you so much, Laurie. Yes, I appreciate a cold Fat Tire, especially when camping 🙂 We were in a beautiful place reminding us of so much to be grateful for. Hope you enjoyed your Thanksgiving too!

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

