Weekly Photo Challenge: Angular

Photograph By: Carrie

Humbolt State University campus, Arcata CA

When my family first visited the Humbolt State University campus last spring, we were trying to find our way around. We happened on this sculpture and I instantly loved it. This is the first thing that came to mind when I saw this week’s photo challenge theme. Luckily, there was a break in the rain and time to take a photograph of it this weekend.

My main focus during the break in the weather, was to finish up a project I was working on for a friend. The community forest was muddy and dripping with the last of the raindrops. I walked happily in my tall rain boots drinking in the deep shades of the forest. As I was leaving the woods, this scene of broken limbs and trunks stood before me. There was a severe angularity to their joint shape. And a true similarity to the sculpture I photographed earlier that day. A lovely connection.

Photo By: Carrie

Arcata Community Forest, Arcata CA

You can find more interpretations of “angular” HERE.

8 comments

    1. Thank you! I added a small radial filter to the path to give it a sense of moving into the woods. I am so glad you caught that šŸ™‚
      I love these woods, I get my wonder back when I visit here!

      1. I saw the effect on someone’s “before and after friday” post last week. Where they used a small radial filter at the back of the horizon, the effect was so great. It really drew your eye into the image. So, I thought I would see if it worked on the path, I am so happy you picked up on it, it works šŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, Chris. I wish the lighting was better to show off the sculpture, it is a very interesting piece. And I agree, there is a nice echo between the two. I was happy to come across this connection yesterday.

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

