One Four Challenge- November wk 4

The culmination of four weeks of tinkering, exploring and learning. Here are my four different images, and the original as well. I will include a poll at the end of the post, where you can vote on your favorite. I’ll write a poem inspired by the winning image and post it on Thanksgiving.

This week I just started clicking and sliding away. I decided at some point something interesting would appear, and if not, I would just return to the original and start again.

Photo By: Carrie

My break through came when I dropped the exposure significantly, like more than -1.30. It brought a beautiful depth to this image that I didn’t know was hiding in there. Here are the details, or what I remember of them anyway.

Details:

  • Started with my original image
  • Placed the Direct Positive preset over the image
  • Went through the basic treatment slide bars and made some corrections
  • Used the Radial Filter tool, still learning how to use this, went from the middle out leaving a portion of the edges out of the filter. I lowered the clarity, exposure and feathering to bring out the most pronounced leaves in the middle third of the photograph.
  • There was still something missing, I didn’t like the colors. So I started significantly moving each slidebar to the left, then right, honestly I was just looking for what I liked.
  • I moved the exposure significantly down and started seeing some real progress with the image. Especially where the tinges of light are concerned.
  • I did some final tweaks of the basic treatment slide bars again, just to really see what I wanted too.

I can’t believe this is the final week to work on this image. I must say, the community participating in this challenge is so supportive, thank you. I have learned a lot from your comments and your own posts. I would love to hear what you think about this latest rendition, and don’t forget to vote! And finally, click HERE to find everyone’s submissions this week. Robyn’s Captivate Me, hosts this challenge. Next month starts the next series, check out her blog for all the details and join in.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

27 comments

    1. Thank you Cybele, I like the depth in #4 too, I do like the warmer colors in week 3 but there is more strength in this week’s process, I think. I really appreciate you taking a look 🙂

  1. Another completely different take on this weeks version. I like how the leaves look all dark and shiny like they have been varnished and the branches have a bit more focus. Nice job.

    1. Thank you Stacey, I was surprised by the shine/varnish that appeared as I tinkered. I am glad you like this version. I guess I am in a different mood each week, hence the different versions 🙂

      1. So much creative fun happening, this is the most fun challenge and looks like its going to continue, which will be really good.

  2. Fantastic transition this week Carrie. Week 4 is absolutely my favourite!!
    I love what you’ve done and the way you’ve gone about achieving it – by experimentation – a great way to learn.
    So looking forward to reading your poem 😀

    Im so thankful our challenge community (I like that) is a supportive and encouraging one (I love that).. Its what I hoped for 😊

    1. It really is a great bunch of bloggers, I am enjoying “meeting’ and learning from everyone each week. I am so glad you brought your vision to this challenge, it is great!!

      Thank you for your kind sentiments towards my entry this week, I did experiment, a lot! It felt freeing to just slide and try away. Just what I need to do with a new program I am just learning. Amazing!

  3. Hi Carrie, I voted for week 3 as I love the warmth of colours. But I learnt a lot from the description of your Week 4 process. As you said, it was more involved. Looking forward to reading your poem! Chris

    1. Thanks for the vote Chris! I like the warmth of week 3 too. I wish I knew how to keep the warmth of week 3 with the depth of week 4 🙂 Maybe by in a few months I will!
      I am happy to hear you learned a bit in this process, I did too 🙂 I love to write, especially about being grateful. Looking forward to writing it. Thank you!

  4. Oh, very nice! I love the final result! Don’t know enough camera-ese to tell you WHY — but to me it’s a sparkling star and it’s magnificent. A completely different feel to each one though. Loved it 🙂

    1. Thank you, I am glad you like it. I have learned a lot through these 4 weeks. I love trees and leaves, I have enjoyed working on this image, again and again. Now, to get inspired to work on another one…:)

    1. Thank you so much, I was interested too 🙂 I don’t have enough processing knowledge to just “know”. So, this was quite the experiment each week. It was really fun! Now, to find an image for next week…:)

    1. 🙂 yes, I don’t think I could replicate what I did…that makes it original, right?
      I really love the lighting in this version too. Thank you for your feedback, I really appreciate it.

    1. Thank you, I really like week 4 too. I was very surprised with how it turned out and love how the light moves through it. I really appreciate your comment 🙂

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

