One Four Challenge- November wk. 2

Arcata Community Forest, Arcata CA

Week 2’s attempt, a black and white version. I decided I will show each image as the weeks progress, on the 4th week I will include the original image as well. I was hoping that my new Lightroom 5 software would arrive in time to work on this image and it did! I notice a huge difference already in the ease of use and editing capabilities from what I was using before.

I have so much more control in all the tiny details. It is a bit hard to explain but every image I turned into a black and white image in Photo-Paint would always turn out so dark. There was no way, that I could see with my limited knowledge, to get a soft black and white image. I feel, there is a true softness to this black and white version that I really like. By keeping to the lighter side the image maintains the details of the leaves.

Photo By: Carrie

Although, the floating movement of the image that I found in the color version is a bit lost, I think.

Details:

  • I started with my original image and converted it to black and white, using Lightroom 5
  • I played with the contrast, exposure, shadows, etc..
  • This is a straight up black and white conversion, no extra enhancements

I couldn’t just stop and process this only one way of course. I kept playing with my new software. So, I have two other versions brewing. Yesterday, I spend a good potion of the morning in tutorial-land. I learned a lot and of course, I still have so much more to learn.

Please jump over to Robyn G.’sย  Captivate Me, November Week 2’s post, HERE. You will find all the participants links in her comments or you can create your own Tag viewing page in your reader with the tag One Four Challenge.

If you have a WordPress account, just go to your reader, on the left side at TAGS, type -One Four Challenge- where it says “enter a tag”, then click the (+). Then One Four Challenge will show up under TAGS in your reader. When you click on it, all posts with a One Four Challenge tag in their post will show up there.

Or better yet, join in, everyone is welcome.

24 comments

  1. How great that your software arrived!! I do understand about disappearing into tutorials and experiments. Such fun!!
    I really like the change to BW and yep, I agree about the movement not appearing here… But thats why I like this challenge – room to experiment ๐Ÿ˜Š
    Wonderful to see your 2 side by side.
    Have a wonderful week Carrie!!

    1. Thank you Robyn, yes disappearing is exactly right, and so fun!
      I couldn’t agree more about the challenge. It offers opportunities to “try” and experiment. And, of course they are not all going to work as you wish. But, there are things I appreciate about this BW image and I learned something in the process so that is great too!

    1. Oh thank you! I love monochrome too. I can’t do a 4 week challenge without attempting a mono version. As I get more familiar with Lightroom I think I will feel more comfortable with all this. It is fun, all the same.

  2. If you think LR is an improvement for BW then you should invest in the Nik Suite from Google that will give you Nik Silver Efex which I think is probably the BEST BW conversion on the market. Its so flexible and so much fun ๐Ÿ™‚

    I like what you did here but tonally it feels a bit flat ie the tones are all quite similar so it thats why it feels like its lost the floating feeling?

    1. Ahh yes, I do know that Nik Silver Efex is incredible for BW. I am sure I would love it. It is on my list, which is growing!
      Thank you for your feedback. I agree, it is a little flat and that takes the movement that I liked in the color version away. So, the next two weeks will probably be more variations on the color image. I love monochrome though, I had to give it a try.

      1. The Nik suite is much more affordable now, Google had it for us $149 for everything when I bought it a couple of years ago, and before that it would have cost over $500 to get everything

      2. Whoa! Well, I am happy to know it is lowering it’s price as the years go by. It truly is on my list, thank you for the extra information. Always something else to learn!

      3. No problem ๐Ÿ™‚ we are all learning on our photographic journey one way or another.

        LR is an excellent program and very flexible too – there are lots of free resources for learning online, and lots of youtube videos as well. I have had LR since version 2 and still finding new ways to use it.

    1. Hello! It is fun to see the softness in this black and white version, I have been rather frustrated with my previous black and white conversions. And yes, there is a real ease of use to Lightroom, I am having a lot of fun learning about it.

    1. Yes, that looks like a great program. I will hopefully work my way there sooner rather than later!
      I look forward to seeing your version next week, I love monochrome ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I love lightroom. I’m still learning even though I’ve had it for about 8 or ten months now. And this is a great challenge for it! On the image you chose, I’m leaning towards the color. There just seems to be more separation between the leaves.

    1. Thank you Emilio, for your comment! Yes, LR is so great! I am learning a lot and have so much more to learn too. I agree, next week’s image moves forward with the color version and I like it a lot more. Still debating how far to take week 4…I may just go for it, something out of the ordinary. That is why I really love this challenge, there is time to think about it and to go bold after you have worked yourself up to it ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. I am working on the description for Week 3 right now and then I will move to week 4. This definitely is a learning experience and I’m enjoying it. I’m trying to get to all the other submissions to check them out, too. I don’t know whether or not I’ll be able to jump in next month because of the holidays unless I do all 4 at once and then schedule them for publication. That’s probably what I’ll do! I’m having too much fun not to! ๐Ÿ™‚

      2. Yes, I totally agree, this is too much fun not to figure out a way to join in each month. I am enjoying looking over each entry too. There is lots to learn from and interesting images. Including yours! I appreciate the range of experience too. Looking forward to next week’s posts already ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. The black and whit is a an interesting Idea for the image, for me there isn’t enough contrast and there are a lot of muddy grays. I much prefer the colour image form week 1.

    1. Well, then you will appreciate week 3 ๐Ÿ™‚ I agree with you, I thought I might be able to make it work, but the color is more appealing to me too.
      Thank you for your opinion and comments. I really appreciate it!

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

