One Four Challenge– November wk.1

Robyn Gosby, at Captivate Me is hosting a new challenge called the One Four Challenge. The way it works is, I choose an image that I want to work on for four weeks. I process the image over that span of 4 weeks, 4 different ways. At the end of the four weeks, you (my readers) will have the chance to vote on your favorite image. Of course, I will link this post each week to Robyn’s blog where you can find her entry each week as well as all the other participants work.

I wanted to take part in this challenge for a couple of reasons. One, because I know I will learn a lot. Robyn, is a remarkably talented photographer and I really like how she processes her images, so I know I will learn from her as well as other participants. Two, because I am very new to photography, as an art form, and this is how you grow, by challenging your comfort zone. And, three, I really hope to get some constructive feedback on my processing approach as well as meet others interested in image processing too.

Photo By: Carrie –WEEK 1

This photograph intrigued me enough to want to work on it for a month for a couple of reasons. First, it is so brisk and fall like now and I was happy to see this feelingΒ  in this image. Two,Β  because of all the texture in it, I find my eye flowing down the image, back and forth, like a leaf would. I thought there were a number of options in processing this image so, it is my choice this month.

My approach to processing an image, usually, is to fine tune the image so that it represents what I originally saw. My camera has a tendency to over expose I think. So, I find myself darkening the image and making the colors richer. It had rained that morning, so everything was damp, darker and richer when I took this photograph. I was also zoomed in, these branches were probably 15 to 20 feet above my head. This, to me, depicts a very close representation to what I saw and why I wanted to take this image to begin with.

I use Corel Photo-Paint 12 for my edits, I am a beginner with this program and processing an image in general. I just bought Lightroom 5 today, it will be here in a couple of days. I did a 30 day trial recently and fell in love with it. With our move and other details that I don’t need to go into at this moment, I needed to wait to purchase the full version. The wait is finally over! So, I will have many processing options at my finger tips, great timing I think.

With this image, I adjusted the brightness down (-10) or so, I bumped up the contrast, more than I usually would (30) and I brought the intensity down (-5). Then I added (5) saturation and dropped the lightness (-5).

Now, it is your turn, I would love to hear your feedback, suggestions, possibilities for the weeks ahead. I am all ears.Β  Next week I will showcase a black and white version of this image. I am still unsure how I will process it for weeks 3 and 4. But, with some help hopefully, it will happen.

**You can find all those participating in Robyn’s challenge HERE, join us if you are intrigued. It is open to all skill levels and ideas. I am going to follow Robyn’s lead in sharing my original image along with the 4 processed images at the end of the 4 weeks, you will get the chance to vote on your favorite too.

 

19 comments

  1. Carrie – I love this image! I can see why you have chosen it.. The richness, the textures – possibilities definitely worth exploring!
    I always ‘feel’ the image when you describe them. I love that! The image does give a floating feel.
    So looking forward to seeing where this takes us πŸ˜ƒ
    Enjoy your new (and old) software. Fun!

    1. Oh thank you, Robyn. I am happy to hear you think this image has “possibilities” as I did πŸ™‚ The floating feeling is much more pronounced in blank and white, I am looking forward to my Lightroom package arriving so I can work on the black and white like I want to. My (what feels like) clunky editing software, really isn’t as subtle as I would like it to be.
      I am excited about this challenge and learning each week! Thanks for hosting πŸ™‚

  2. What an intriguing and growth-inspiring challenge. You chose an exceptional photograph to work with. I especially enjoyed the way you shared your professional and creative thinking with us, Carrie I hope you continue to do so.

    1. Thank you, Janet. Yes, I will continue to share more of my creative thinking, hopefully. I think this challenge lends itself to explaining those aspects of an image, which is part of why I wanted to do it. It will be really interesting to see where it takes me, creatively. I am so excited for my new software to arrive, just in time to really participate in this challenge!
      Thank you too for your kind words about my image, it is always great to hear from you πŸ™‚

      1. By far, mine too! This is the first fall season in 10 years that actually feels and looks like fall to me. I am soaking it in, every crisp morning, every leaf falling, every changing color. I am so happy πŸ™‚

  3. Hello, Carrie. I am glad you decided to join the challenge, looking forward to follow your work. What I like about your post-processing here is how you really stayed true to the fall colors, it does look very close to what our eye would see. Sometimes in eagerness to improve, we overdo it.

    1. Thank you for taking the time to comment. I really appreciate your feedback! I totally agree about the potential to “overdo” when it comes to processing. I think this is where the challenge lies for me, in this One Four Challenge. I am interested in moving past the “real” feel of an image and moving into an “art” feel. If that makes sense. Of course, most images don’t lend themselves to this type of editing, I will try my had at seeing if this one does in weeks to come. Looking forward to following your journey as well!

  4. Lovely colours in this image, and some nice shapes and textures to play with – it’ll be interesting in monochrome! Have fun with LR 5, I need to take the plunge soon as Aperture is no longer being developed.

    1. Thank you, Sue. I appreciate your feedback and comments. I agree, I am looking forward to sharing it in monochrome πŸ™‚ And playing with LR 5 too. This is going to be a great challenge to learn from!

  5. Like you I prefer the more “real” style of editing and thats one of the reasons I am doing this challenge, to move me in a different direction and try some new creative concepts.

    Thats an interesting image you picked, quite a lot going on in it but then lots of potential too, looking forward to see where you go with it πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you for your comment! And, I agree about using this challenge as a opportunity to try something new. I am looking forward to learning as I go!
      I have been “playing” a bit with this image already…we will see where it takes me πŸ™‚

      1. I have my next one all done, its BW which is the obvious step but NO IDEA what to do after that.

    1. Thank you for your comment. I am happy to hear that you feel this image is balanced. I like balance πŸ™‚
      Yes, Photo-Paint from Corel isn’t an ideal editing software but it was the best thing I had access to.

      Lightroom did arrive a couple days ago! I have been watching tutorials and learning a lot. This challenge each week is a great way for me to really learn how to us it I think.

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

