Undercover

Photo By: Carrie

Arcata Community Forest, Arcata CA

My younger son lost his toy of the moment, as he ran down his favorite steep hill, just as we made our way out of the forest. He is careless with things, even his most prized things. This is simply because he is always in the moment, he drops anything for the next moment.

In this case, his bamboo chopsticks he claimed as his wands flew out of their holster as he let his body fly down the hill at top speed. He felt them fall out, he needed my help to retrieve them. I wasn’t to thrilled, this was my third time playing retriever in less than a half an hour. Bamboo chopsticks look a lot like small sticks or pine needles, which there is a plethora of on the ground in a forest.

I unenthusiastically made my way to where he was wandering in circles, dead set on finding them. I thought for sure they were lost, now part of the forest floor. Then as I stared at the multitude of textures beneath my feet, one appeared. Like magic. The search was on for the second, we couldn’t leave now without the pair.

I leaned over a fallen log and behold, bamboo chopstick number two. Popped up next to the chopstick was a very interesting grouping of mushrooms. My son was instantly transported to casting spells and wandering through the ferns in search of his next target. I, however, was tummy down on the forest floor, marveling at my mushroom find.

When I got home and uploaded my images to my computer I almost jumped out of my seat when I saw this image. I had no idea I was being watched. Just another reminder, as my son so effortlessly embraces, in a moment there is often more than meets the eye.

Photo By: Carrie

4 comments

    1. Thank you, Laura. I have no idea what that insect is! I don’t think it is a grasshopper maybe some kind of wood mite or something. It blended in so easily to the mushroom that I never saw it until I got home and checked out my images on the computer! I still can’t believe it.

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

