Out On A Limb

Photo By: Carrie

Sixteen years, we fit
Together, eleven moves
To greener pastures
Your hugs are
Strong, filling, home
My tip toes required
To hold on, you protect me
From the rain, keep me warm
In winter winds, shade my eyes
From bright sunlight and remind me to breathe
Deep to the smells of spring, anticipating
Your coming home, be
From work or after a long time gone
Butterflies dance, my face gets flushed
My heart so thankful
For your love, here
We go again, out
On a limb, knowing together
We, you and me
Can make anything
Begin

14 comments

    1. Yes, I love having a partner. It feels so strange to be doing all this packing and dreaming without my partner here. 2 more days!!
      Thank you for enjoying my words. I really appreciate it!

    1. Thanks Shane! These sweet little leaves alone on their limb inspired me ๐Ÿ™‚ My husband comes home tomorrow! After 5 weeks away and so much on the horizon…this next month will be beyond interesting ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. A wonderful love poem filled with anticipation, a great photograph with the metaphor of the two leaves, and a poem that’s beautifully formatted on the page. I loved this post, Carrie.

    1. Thank you so much, Janet! It was fun to write. And yes, there was a lot of anticipation happening as I wrote it. My husband coming home after 5 weeks away, a home we only bought a year ago up on the market for sale, moving 630 miles north at the end of the month, leaving family and friends behind for the longing of the trees and wilds of weather. It is exciting!

    1. Hi Elizabeth. In some ways yes, it is about an anniversary. Also about coming home. My husband was gone working for a month recently and we are making a major move, 650 miles north, at the end of the month. There is a lot going on,and we are finally making some really heartfelt choices together, out on a limb, and we are really happy about it. I am happy you enjoyed it.

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

