The Garden (Our Arboretum)

Photo By: Carrie

Our local Arboretum (Arcadia Arboretum) is in full spring bloom. I hardly knew what to do with myself. There was color everywhere I looked.

Photo By: Carrie

The cacti were in full bloom

Photo By: Carrie

Photo By: Carrie

My son was very patient. It helped that he had a friend to play with.

My friend and I would take turns watching our boys while the other was creatively struck. I love sharing time with other moms who appreciate flowers and photography as much as me.

Photo By: Carrie

A sweet little bunny with nest making materials in his/her mouth, stayed still in the shade wondering where to go since there were two wild four-year-old’s wandering in this bunny’s territory.

Photo By: Carrie

Photo By: Carrie

Another cactus bloom, deep satin yellow.

Photo By: Carrie

Photo By: Carrie

This gorgeous reaching flower stopped me in my tracks. The group was far ahead by the time I finished enjoying these flowers.

Photo By: Carrie

Tiny details hiding in the simplest of places.

Photo By: Carrie

Photo By: Carrie

And, my favorite creΓ€ture of the day. My boy reminding me to explore these wonders through the viewfinder of my camera and with my own eyes too.

Photo By: Carrie

 

16 comments

  1. That picture of your boy in the ivy is too cute!!!! I love it!! All the images are beautiful but that one brought a smile to my face. πŸ˜€ What lens are you using?

    1. He brings a smile to my face too! Seriously, he is a character and always brings me back to the real moment. He played in that Ivy for probably an hour, it went forever!

      Ahh, my lens, well I just use a Sony Cybershot G for all my photographs. I am a bit embarrassed to tell you this πŸ™‚ I am saving and wanting something better but for now, this is what I use. Hence, the few photographs with strange focus points or other issues. It is a great camera to learn on but I must say, I am bumping up against its limits. Christmas can’t come soon enough!

      1. whooo I will have to check him out. Thanks, for the link and vote of confidence πŸ™‚ It’s funny, there are some days I want to trade in this camera and other days I feel like I know it really well and why change anything. I still have a lot to learn, about how this camera works and how to get the best out of it. Always fun to continue that learning process!

      2. I disagree with those who say you can’t take a good image without a fancy camera. I love my camera, don’t get me wrong, but I’ve seen some pretty creative stuff out there taken on a point ‘n shoot or a smartphone. It’s all about your style and creating images/art. It’s not always about the “perfect technical approach”. Keep on going! You’ve got a good eye. O.O

      3. Thank you, curious why you asked which lens I use or was using? Did you see something that was out of place or caught your eye?

        I agree, that link on “the Tree” is sooo impressive. I am so thankful I got to see those images. What an expression of creativity!

        I honestly can’t stop taking photographs, I really do love it and the challenge of seeing something that I want to see more deeply. Enjoy your weekend!

    1. Yes, this is a bunny’s heaven. Tons of places to hide, plenty of food and nest building materials. It is quite a place, we love to explore there.

  2. Wondrous photographs, Carrie, and I was particularly fond of the last one; perhaps because we just returned from a trip to see our grandchildren, and I miss them already. While gone, we spent an afternoon in the Missouri botanical gardens in St. Louis. You and your camera would have loved it. Public gardens are such a joy this time of year.

    1. Thank you, Janet πŸ™‚ Public gardens are really such an incredible use of space. Yes, I am particularly fond of the final photograph too! He loves to play hide-and-seek and is always watching me. I can’t wait to get lost in another part of this arboretum, we only saw about 1/4 of it and we were there for 3 hrs.

  3. This is really pretty..:) I kinda wished I was there to witness and absorb all that beauty. Your shots were beautiful. πŸ™‚

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

