The Garden (New Leaves)

I was the last one to the car, it happens that way a lot. My eye caught a beautifully lit new tree, I fell even further behind. I could hear my boys nagging me, wondering why I lost my way, again. This tree isn’t far from the car, they will see me when they really want to, I thought to myself. Camera in hand, eyes focused on the glowing, bright green, tender leaves. The juvenile tree’s leaves newly bursting from their winter protection. Leaves ready to spread, grow and receive light. I felt like a spider, weaving my way around this spindly sapling. Every way I focused the light was profound.

And now, after pouring over the images, marveling at what my camera captured I honestly can’t decide which way I prefer them. Color or monochrome.

Photo By: Carrie

Photo By: Carrie

 

Photo By: Carrie

Photo By: Carrie

 

Photo By: Carrie

Photo By: Carrie

 

Photo By: Carrie

Photo By: Carrie

 

Photo By: Carrie

Photo By: Carrie

Photo By: Carrie

So, if you don’t mind, please leave a comment on your preference. I am curious and would love to hear your opinions. I will put them in a gallery at the bottom of this post, if you click one image you will see it full screen and you can easily click-through them.

9 comments

    1. Thanks Laura, the glowing green bits (other leaves) in the background of the color images really make me happy. It was such a spindly little tree, amazing how it comes to life in a photograph.

      1. I couldn’t agree more. I am such a sucker for the tiniest detail. But I also love to feel tiny in a grand expanse. I think I may need to do a post on Big and Little. And, thank you for the pat on the back, I really appreciate it.

  1. Of course Laura Mackey has a great eye for monochrome, but in view of the topic “New Birth” I would say the vibrant color tells the story. The first one on the top is splendid.

    1. Thank you Beth, I do like the color images too. I guess it just depends on what your intent is with the photograph. In this case, I am just admiring ๐Ÿ™‚

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

