How Do You Do

Photo By: Carrie

Photo By: Carrie

You only walked past
As you shuffled
Up the ramp, sweet old women
I gave you
No sign
Just a soft smile, I saw
You touched my heart

All the way inside, you
Made me think I will
See myself crisp and bold
As you see yourself
I won’t soon forget
Every detail of yourself, I
Only mere seconds, give
Take, the memory will last

Your spark
Spunk
Glowing wilds in your eyes, how
Could I do anything
Remember your blooming rosy perfume
Your teased gray hair, nothing
Out-of-place, the red
Lipstick on your

Lips, perfectly
Pressed white blouse
Pleats and ruffles, in
Just the right place
Your dressy black
Pants no lint, no
Wrinkles, sassy and relaxed

A thick gold necklace
I am sure it has
A story, I worried
It was weighing you down
You wore it proudly, you are
A peacock flaunting gracefully
Strong hands with rings
Almost every finger, like

Notches on the wall, how
Many years have you been here
Walker dazzling fresh
Cut tennis balls on the back legs
Shinning silver, strong
Not a mark, giving you the freedom
To do so many things
Those black patented leather

Flats with a wide
Bow at the toe, shine
How, staying on your
Little feet as you shuffle
On, forward slow motion
The warmest, softest, most familiar
Part, although like I said
You are a stranger

Not to my heart
Your smile, with every
Tiny step forward, proud
Thankful smile that you
Are here, doing
What you want
No caregiver holding
Your arm, no one

With a worried look feeling
Like they are wasting
Their time, just you
Taking your time, finding
Your way it must have taken
You all day to look
This way, did you wake up
In the morning and think

I am going to the store, not
Knowing how you were
Going to put the groceries
In the cart. Did you
First take a bath or lay out
Your clothes, were you so excited
You did those things
The night before. How many

Hours did you plan, find
Your way into your freshly
Pressed attire, did you
Take the bus, have a friend
Drop you off, oh what
I would give to see your list
Probably heavy things
Like a ten pound bag of flour

I can see that you have
Always found a way to make
It work, no matter what
Keep a smile
On your face. What a gift
To see you, share
A short but brilliant smile
What I wouldn’t give to share

More
A bit of tea, homemade
Banana muffin and talk
With you a while
Have you touch my hand, believe
Me and you, listening
A moment
I’ll bring you flowers

This post is in response to the Weekly Writing Challenge: Time for Poetry

This week, we invite you to write a post — in verse or in prose — inspired by poetry.

You can find other poems from this week’s challenge HERE

10 comments

    1. Hi Mom 🙂 I walked, oh so briefly, passed an old women the other day while coming out of the grocery store. She was dazzling in every way. The moment I passed her my mind filled with words and this is what came of those words. I am so happy you enjoyed it. Thank you, it means so much that you read and support my words!

  1. I loved the tiny telling details in this poem that makes it fragrant. My favourite line is
    ‘Pressed white blouse
    Pleats and ruffles, in
    Just the right place’

    1. For some reason, people really strike me. Sometimes they have a lot of negative energy that is hard for me to get past. Other times, they are filled with such joy I can’t help but notice their every detail. This women was such a treat to write about, she was stunning. Thank you for your lovely comment and enjoyment of a post that means a lot to me.

Please take a moment, comments encouraged.

